Which Are the Best Clean Label Multivitamins in India?
Clean label means no artificial colors, preservatives, fillers, or hidden proprietary blends; ZeroHarm's multivitamins (₹549–₹699) make explicit free-from claims without disclosing excipients, while Unived's (₹1,000–₹1,200) disclose their HPMC capsule shell at a higher price.
A clean label means a supplement lists only ingredients with a real nutritional purpose, no artificial colors, no synthetic preservatives, no fillers, and no proprietary blends hiding actual amounts. Few Indian brands disclose their full excipient list, the capsule shells and coatings behind the claim. ZeroHarm's Whole Food Multivitamin for Men and Women both make no fillers, no added color claim explicitly, and its Probiotic Multivitamin adds a 10-strain probiotic blend to the same base.
This guide breaks down what a clean label really means, why it matters, what to actually check before trusting the claim, and how five real multivitamins sold in India compare on exactly that. It includes Unived's line, one of the few brands that discloses its actual capsule shell material and named whole food ingredients.
Key Takeaways
- Clean label specifically means no artificial colors or flavors, no synthetic preservatives, no unnecessary fillers or flow agents (like titanium dioxide), and no proprietary blends that hide individual ingredient amounts.
- Titanium dioxide, a common capsule and tablet whitening agent, was banned as a food additive in the European Union in 2022 after EFSA said it could no longer be considered safe, it's still widely used in supplements sold in India and the US.
- A brand can make clean label marketing claims without publishing its full excipient (inactive ingredient) list, that gap is the single biggest thing to check before trusting the claim.
- Fewer than 10 total ingredients is a reasonable simplicity benchmark, and a disclosed capsule shell material (like HPMC) is a stronger transparency signal than an undisclosed one.
- Iron inclusion philosophy varies genuinely by brand, some include it by default for convenience, others leave it out deliberately so you can dose it separately based on your own bloodwork, neither approach is automatically wrong.
What Clean Label Actually Means on a Supplement
Clean label isn't a regulated term in India, so it's worth knowing what it should mean before trusting it. A genuinely clean label formula contains only ingredients with a direct nutritional or functional purpose. Here's specifically what that excludes:
- Artificial colors and flavors added purely for appearance or taste
- Synthetic preservatives not needed for a shelf stable capsule or tablet
- Fillers and flow agents included solely to speed up manufacturing, common examples include titanium dioxide (a whitening agent) and, more debatably, magnesium stearate
- Proprietary blends, a legal loophole that lets a brand list a combined ingredient weight without disclosing how much of each individual ingredient is actually in it
- Unnecessary artificial sweeteners like sucralose or acesulfame potassium
The EU banned titanium dioxide as a food additive in 2022, after its food safety authority said it could no longer be considered safe over genotoxicity concerns. It's still common in Indian and US supplement capsules and coatings, purely as a whitening agent, not for any nutritional reason.
What to Check Before Trusting a Clean Label Claim
- Look for the full excipient list: A disclosed capsule shell, like HPMC, tells you more about a product's transparency than an undisclosed coating ever will.
- Count the total ingredients: A short, fully disclosed list is much easier to trust than a long one hidden behind a vague proprietary blend.
- Check for a specific free from claim: A statement like no preservatives, no fillers can actually be checked, while a vague label like clean and pure cannot.
- Look at the capsule or tablet type: A capsule that names its material, such as HPMC, is more verifiable than one simply labeled veg capsule.
- Don't assume free from claims are verified: Most of these claims are self declared by the brand rather than confirmed by an independent third party lab.
For background on the individual nutrients covered in these formulas, our glossary has entries on iron, folate, zinc, and vitamin B12.
Five Clean Label Multivitamins in India
| Product | Formulated For | Excipient Disclosure | Free-From Claims | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZeroHarm Whole Food Multivitamin for Men | Men | Not disclosed | "No preservatives, no sugar, no additives, no fillers, no added color or flavor" | ₹549 for 60 tablets |
| ZeroHarm Whole Food Multivitamin for Women | Women | Not disclosed | "No preservatives, no sugar, no additives, no fillers, no added color or flavor" | ₹549 for 60 tablets |
| ZeroHarm Probiotic Multivitamin All In One Capsules | Unisex | Not disclosed | Not specifically claimed beyond general marketing | ₹699 for 60 capsules |
| Unived Wholefood Multivitamin Men's | Men | HPMC vegetarian capsule disclosed | "Free from dairy, sugar, nuts, gluten, artificial colours, fillers and preservatives" | ₹1,200 for 60 capsules |
| Unived Wholefood Multivitamin Women's | Women | HPMC vegetarian capsule disclosed | "Free from dairy, sugar, nuts, gluten, artificial colours, fillers and preservatives" | ₹1,000 for 60 capsules |
Prices fluctuate with offers and pack size. Always confirm current pricing, ingredient amounts, and certifications on the brand's own site before buying.
1. ZeroHarm Whole Food Multivitamin for Men
Best for: Men who want an affordable, explicitly no fillers, no added color formula built around whole food and botanical ingredients, without needing the full excipient list disclosed
This tablet leads with a clear, checkable free from claim, no preservatives, no sugar, no additives, no fillers, no added color or flavor, on a whole food sourced multivitamin base. It includes iron by default, which suits most men's formulas that skip it, worth checking against your own needs.
Capabilities:
- Full range of core vitamins and minerals, including 12 mg of iron, on a whole food and botanical base
- Grape seed extract, giloy, quercetin, and ginkgo biloba as added botanicals
- Explicit no preservatives, no sugar, no additives, no fillers, no added color or flavor claim on the product page
- ISO 9001:2015, ISO 22000:2018, HACCP, GMP, Halal, and Kosher certifications, plus a US FDA registered facility
- Single daily tablet dosing
Pricing: ₹549 for 60 tablets, a 2 month supply at the standard dose.
Limitations:
- The full excipient (inactive ingredient) list, including the tablet coating, isn't published, so the no fillers claim can't be independently verified against a disclosed ingredient list.
- No FSSAI license number is displayed on the product page itself, and no third party lab report is published alongside the free from claims.
2. ZeroHarm Whole Food Multivitamin for Women
Best for: Women who want the same clean label claim as the men's formula, in a version with hormonal support botanicals added
This shares its core free from claim and certification stack with the men's version, with borage oil and evening primrose oil added in place of ginkgo biloba, both commonly included for hormonal and PMS related support.
Capabilities:
- Full range of core vitamins and minerals, including 12 mg of iron, on a whole food and botanical base
- Grape seed extract, giloy, borage oil, and evening primrose oil as added botanicals
- Same explicit no preservatives, no sugar, no additives, no fillers, no added color or flavor claim as the men's formula
- Same certification stack as the men's version (ISO 9001, ISO 22000, HACCP, GMP, Halal, Kosher, US FDA registered facility)
- Single daily tablet dosing
Pricing: ₹549 for 60 tablets, a 2 month supply at the standard dose.
Limitations:
- Same excipient disclosure gap as the men's formula, the tablet coating and any flow agents used aren't published.
- Borage oil and evening primrose oil can interact with blood thinners, worth flagging to a doctor if that applies to you.
3. ZeroHarm Probiotic Multivitamin All In One Capsules
Best for: Anyone who wants a multivitamin and a multi strain probiotic combined into one capsule, rather than buying and dosing two separate products
This is a genuinely different format from the other four products here, a full vitamin and mineral spread combined with a 10 strain, 300 mg probiotic and prebiotic blend in the same capsule. Combination products like this, multivitamin plus probiotic in one, are uncommon in the Indian market, most brands sell these as two separate SKUs.
Capabilities:
- A full vitamin and mineral profile per capsule, including 12 mg iron, 100 mg magnesium, and 10 mg zinc, alongside choline, omega DHA, grape seed extract, giloy, borage oil, and evening primrose oil
- A 10 strain, 300 mg probiotic and prebiotic blend, including Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium species plus psyllium husk as a prebiotic
- Same certification stack as ZeroHarm's other multivitamins (ISO 9001, ISO 22000, HACCP, GMP, Halal, Kosher, US FDA registered facility)
- Two capsule daily dosing, one after breakfast and one after dinner, with 3 months suggested for full effect
Pricing: ₹699 for 60 capsules, scaling down to roughly ₹10.55 per capsule at the 180 capsule size.
Limitations:
- The exact CFU (colony forming unit) count per probiotic strain isn't disclosed, only the total blend weight, making it hard to compare its probiotic potency against dedicated probiotic products that do publish CFU counts.
- Like ZeroHarm's other multivitamins, the capsule shell material and full excipient list aren't published on the product page.
- Combining a full multivitamin and a probiotic blend in one capsule means less room for either component individually compared to two separate, more specialized products.
4. Unived Wholefood Multivitamin Men's
Best for: Men who specifically want a disclosed capsule shell material and a shorter, food sourced ingredient list, and don't mind paying more for that transparency
Unived is a sports nutrition-adjacent brand built around minimal, disclosed ingredient lists, and it shows here. Its B vitamin and vitamin blends are built from named whole foods (tulsi, sunflower seed, papaya leaf, amla, spirulina) rather than a synthetic premix, and its HPMC vegetarian capsule shell is stated directly on the product page, something ZeroHarm's listings don't do.
Capabilities:
- Vitamins dosed at 100% RDA (ICMR 2020 standards), built from a whole food B-complex and vitamin blend rather than a synthetic premix
- HPMC (hypromellose) vegetarian capsule shell explicitly disclosed
- Free from dairy, sugar, nuts, gluten, artificial colours, fillers and preservatives, with soy flagged as a present allergen (from soy derived vitamin E)
- Iron free by design, positioned so you can dose iron separately based on your own bloodwork rather than getting a fixed default amount
- Two capsule daily dosing
Pricing: ₹1,200 for 60 capsules, a 1 month supply at the standard 2 capsule dose, notably more expensive per month than ZeroHarm's tablet.
Limitations:
- No FSSAI, GMP, or third party testing certification is listed on the product page, its transparency case rests on ingredient and excipient disclosure rather than certification badges.
- Iron free by design means it isn't a complete solution on its own if you do need dietary iron, that has to be sourced or supplemented separately.
- Meaningfully more expensive per month than ZeroHarm's option, worth weighing against how much the excipient disclosure specifically matters to you.
5. Unived Wholefood Multivitamin Women's
Best for: Women who want the same disclosed capsule, food sourced approach as the men's version, with moringa added and iron left out by design
This mirrors the men's formula's transparency approach, HPMC capsule shell disclosed, same free from claim, whole food sourced vitamin blends, with moringa leaf powder added and, notably, no iron or calcium included by design.
Capabilities:
- Vitamins built from a whole food B complex and vitamin blend (tulsi, sunflower seed, papaya leaf, amla, spirulina), plus 124 mg of moringa leaf powder
- HPMC (hypromellose) vegetarian capsule shell explicitly disclosed
- Free from dairy, sugar, nuts, gluten, artificial colours, fillers and preservatives, with soy flagged as a present allergen
- No iron and no calcium by design, intended so you dose both separately based on your own bloodwork needs
- Two capsule daily dosing
Pricing: ₹1,000 for 60 capsules, a 1 month supply at the standard dose.
Limitations:
- No iron or calcium at all means this isn't a complete formula if you need either, which many women of reproductive age do, that has to come from a separate source.
- No FSSAI, GMP, or third party testing certification is listed on the product page, same gap as the men's version.
- Meaningfully more expensive per month than ZeroHarm's tablet.
Which One Fits Your Situation?
- If an explicit "no fillers, no added color" claim at an affordable price is what you're after, either ZeroHarm Whole Food Multivitamin (Men or Women) covers that, without a fully disclosed excipient list behind it.
- If you want a multivitamin and probiotic combined into one product, ZeroHarm's Probiotic Multivitamin All In One is the only option here built for that specifically, though its per strain CFU count isn't disclosed.
- If a disclosed capsule shell material and a shorter, named ingredient list matter more to you than price, Unived's Men's or Women's formula delivers that transparency, at a meaningfully higher monthly cost.
- If you specifically need iron included by default, ZeroHarm's formulas include it, Unived's leave it out by design for separate dosing.
- Either way, treat any clean label or free from claim as a starting point to verify, not a finished fact, check what's actually disclosed rather than the marketing language alone.
When to Check Further Before Buying
- If you have a soy allergy, Unived's formulas use soy derived vitamin E, worth checking the label.
- If you're pregnant or trying to conceive, discuss your exact multivitamin choice with a doctor first.
- If you're already taking iron or calcium separately, check for overlap, or pick an iron free option like Unived's.
- If you're on blood thinners, borage oil and evening primrose oil, in ZeroHarm's Women's formula and the Probiotic Multivitamin, can interact.
- If you want independent proof, email the brand for a certificate of analysis or full excipient list.
Conclusion
Clean label has a real, checkable meaning, no artificial colors, preservatives, fillers, or proprietary blends, but few Indian brands publish enough detail to prove it. Titanium dioxide, still common here, was banned as a food additive in the EU in 2022 over safety concerns. ZeroHarm's formulas make clear free from claims at an accessible price without a disclosed excipient list, while Unived's disclose their capsule material at a higher cost. Check what's actually disclosed, not just the word clean.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does a clean label actually mean for a multivitamin? It means avoiding artificial colors, synthetic preservatives, unnecessary fillers, and proprietary blends that hide ingredient amounts, with the full ingredient list disclosed.
Is titanium dioxide actually harmful in supplements? The EU banned it as a food additive in 2022 over unresolved genotoxicity concerns. It remains legal and common in supplements sold in India and the US.
Does a clean label claim mean it's independently verified? Not usually. Most free from claims on Indian labels are self declared by the brand, not confirmed by an independent third party lab.
Which of these five products discloses the most about its ingredients? Unived's Men's and Women's formulas disclose their HPMC capsule shell and named whole food ingredients, more than ZeroHarm's listings, at a higher price.
Should I choose a multivitamin with or without iron? It depends on your needs. Men and post menopausal women generally need less iron, while women of reproductive age often need more. Check your own levels rather than assume.
Is the Probiotic Multivitamin a good replacement for a dedicated probiotic supplement? It combines both, but its per strain CFU count isn't disclosed, making it hard to compare against a dedicated probiotic that publishes that number.
Last verified: 2026-09-11